Warming Up For The 'Penguin' Dance

I took this from a distance at four-thirty, the lengthening days and the antics of this pair of great crested grebes welcome signs that spring is on its way. I think they were just practising, I only spotted them once they were together but it can be seen from their Kelvin wakes, which are showing blue in my image, that they approached each other from opposite directions. I've captured the full, water-treading, weed-waving dance twice before, I hope I get to see and photograph it this year. I've added a more conventional grebe pic to extras. :)

Today's poem is Before The Beginning by Christina Rossetti http://poetrynook.com/poem/beginning-10

I'm not keen on overtly religious or death-bed poetry. Christina Rossetti was engaged to James Collinson, a Pre-Raphaelite painter. He broke it off over religion and left the brotherhood. I don't like pondering death. I'll be on the phone to Esther Rantzen's Silver Line at this rate. ;) It's swamped with calls from oldies worried about dying.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.