The Myth of the Spider and the Plughole

It's not often I let things get to me, but I have today. This weather is seriously depressing. It was a very sad sight to watch both my lads troop off to their respective cricket matches in the pouring rain, in the full knowledge that they weren't going to be able to play. They emerged a few hours later actually in better spirits than me. I've realised just how little I've seen them play this summer, and the season is now almost over. I've had a pretty rotten day at the computer too. Little problems have piled upon little problems until I've lost sight of the bigger picture altogether.

But enough of that. Found this spider in the bath this morning. It's a sight we are all familiar with, but I wonder how many of you think that they emerge from the plughole? Ask most people and you would, I'm quite sure, get that seemingly obvious answer. It's a kind of urban myth that's been perpetuated over the years - for it is, of course, a myth. Spiders cannot swim underwater. Just a few seconds thought will tell you that most spiders arrive from the air, falling into the bath from above, and once in the tub there is no escape for them.

I think all bath manufacturers should be forced to put a textured strip up between the taps to allow them to escape. It's a horrible place to find yourself if you're a spider. Insurmountable walls and the constant threat of being drowned by hot water. And even if someone is kind enough to rescue you then it is likely that you'll end up being cast off outside with little chance of gaining back entry to the house before getting eaten.

I was going to find a dusty corner for this fellow but before I got the chance my son had found him, picked him up and put him outside. I'm glad that I've at least brought him up to do the next best thing! I've not poked my head out the door all day so I'm going to see if I can raise the energy for a run in the rain. Might just do my head a bit of good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.