Gaylord didn't get the memo!

Dear Diary,

When my lovely new bird feeder arrived shortly before Christmas, sent by my Blipfoto friend, DDW, I read the insert.  The feeder was designed for "small birds".  Well, Rudy and Rosamond read only the "small" part and happily scamper up the snow shovel handle to dine under cover.  They fit in perfectly.  Gaylord, it appears, didn't get the memo.  He squeezed his somewhat beefy body into the feeder.  I can't believe he had enough room to bend down and get a seed!

Of course, his magnificent tail could not fit in and draped luxuriously outside the little feeder.  It did make me smile and what a commotion he cause getting out a bit later!   Squirrel Nutkin watched the antics delicately perched on the other feeder and I could just see her thinking, "Typical male!"

I was finally able to get out yesterday afternoon and do a bit of food shopping after the marvelous Matt left.  It felt good.  This is the time of year when the dreaded "cabin fever" sets in.  I should be planning a trip to the Caribbean instead of Minnesota!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.