Flashback Friday - May, 1969

Dear Diary,

I felt the need for a trip down memory lane this morning.  This adorable little boy is my nephew Michael who will be 49 years old this July.  That, in itself, is hard to comprehend but like all old photographs, this one is a gold mine of memories.  I could talk about:

- the year I was married, June 21st; I just turned 20 this month
- my brother who was serving in the Army in Viet Nam at this time
- my sister-in-law and baby Michael who were living with us
- those Iris, they were my mother's favorite flowers
- "white wash" day by the look of what is hanging on the line
- my dad who built that iron railing, he could build anything

"Baby" Michael is a Colonel in the Army now; was just promoted in fact.  I am so proud of him and his two daughters; both girls finishing college soon.  But the memory that is most bubbling to the surface this morning is sitting on the floor with little Michael and showing him how to hold a crayon and to make marks on a big piece of paper.  He was so delighted by the exercise.  I think that was when the seed was planted.  Ten years later I would be an art teacher!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.