An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It's Fabulous being 50!

Backblip

Well it sure beats the alternative!  :-)

I am annoyed it's taken so long to get the chance to blip as so many lovely little things happened today that I wanted to record but they've been lost in the general loveliness that was today.  I'll just have to summarise!

First of all I woke up scarcely able to believe today had actually arrived without us having to cancel the restaurant.   Hearing Alan's laughter coming from his room was the best birthday present ever!  I actually cried with joy at hearing it.  Coming a close second was my birthday gift from David, a beautiful eternity ring!  I didn't think I would have it in time for my birthday as we didn't choose it until 23rd December, but knowing it was for a special occasion, the jeweller pulled out all the stops and had it ready on time.   

David slipped it on my finger whilst wishing me Happy 50th Birthday and I honestly felt like the luckiest woman in the world, not because of the ring (although I do feel very lucky to have it) but at being loved by such a wonderful man.   I felt that at age 17 and what a privilege to still feel it now.

Alan gave me perfume and a lovely bottle of Silent Pool Gin.   I had to steal a kiss though as he was less keen on giving me one of those!

The morning went by in a bit of a rush as we tried to get the house ready for our friends who'd be staying over this evening.  The afternoon was hectic too as John and Norma popped in to wish me happy birthday and drop off their card and pressie.  Then there were three deliveries of flowers. Oh my goodness, I was throughly spoiled!

At 5.30pm I went to transform myself into birthday girl and when I emerged  a long short time later, Ele and Kenny had arrived and had festooned the place with 50th banners and balloons.  That was a lovely surprise :) 

The rest of the gang (Agnes, Adrian, Alan, Gail, Natalie and Jim) arrived at 6.30pm and the champagne corks were popped.   After the last few week of Alan's ill health, everyone was over the moon to see him looking well and in good cheer.  They've all been so worried about him and us, so we were all extra hyper and ready for a night out!

When we decided to have a birthday meal out, we swithered about where to go.  The amazing food but slightly posh establishment or the amazing food but more casual establishment.  We went with the latter and I am so glad we did as we were a fairly raucous lot but the staff and other diners joined in and the atmosphere was amazing.  Lots and lots of laughter, which David and I certainly needed.  I think we'd both actually forgotten how it feels to relax and have fun.

Agnes had popped into the restaurant before coming to the house and decorated the table with 50th balloons and napkins, and after fabulous meal, just as we were deciding on dessert, the waitress appeared singing Happy Birthday  (quickly joined by everyone in the restaurant!  Whit a big riddy! :) carrying an enormous Victoria sponge that Agnes had made! (see extra)  OMG it was amazing!  We demolished it in 5 mins flat!

Afterwards we all piled back to ours where the partying continued till just after 2.30am.

What an absolutely amazing birthday.  So much love and laughter ad wonderful good wishes from family and friends (having our official family celebration of both our 50th's on 11th March.  It was the first date everyone was available!) 

I may surprise you to know I received one or two gin related gifts, including a year's membership to the Craft Gin Club.   Looking forward more than ever to the opening of the Gin Palace in the spring :D  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.