Burns Monument

A frosty morning, with a lovely pink glow in the sky as we took BB to breakfast club.  Work was busier today.  My computer was sorted out late morning, so I was then able to take up residence at my new desk (which weirdly is the very desk I sat at this time last year before we were moved to another part of the building), beside my new colleagues.  I had a short report to write following the deliberations of a parliamentary committee – that kept me busy.  While not the hardest job in the world, it helped me realise that although I am aware of the key issues I am to be working on, I don’t know the detail, but that will come in time.

I really had to rush for my train tonight, and only just made it, but amazingly there were vacant seats and I was able to sit down.  What a treat.  Once home I picked BB up from after school club and heard how he had been helping with the washing up!  We had the usual quick turnaround to get him back out to cubs.  Once I had dropped him off I went for a run.  It was perishing at first – but very soon I didn’t notice how cold it was.

I realise I am a day behind with this blip, but having forgotten Burns Night was yesterday, here is the Burns Monument in Edinburgh, photographed when I popped out for some fresh air at lunchtime.  BB had a Burns supper at school today.  His class sang, Donald Where’s Your Troosers, and he recited I’ll Aye Ca’ In By Yon Town, and of course they enjoyed haggis, neeps and tatties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.