A Dower House Outing

With a certain abatement of the Dower House cough and the sunshine transforming the world beyond the windows, we braved the -6 degrees to take the bus to Peebles and the first test of the no scone New Year resolution.

Of course you will have guessed that I fell at the first hurdle and demolished with the kind of relish known only to someone also capable of falling off the deprivation wagon, a cranberry and walnut scone of such dimensions that I will need no more food today other than a bowl of soup at supper time.
The difference is that this year I am in control; no,I really am and there will be no more scone consumption until we visit Peebles again. Watch this space.

As well as returning home with a stomach full of scone, I brought back a mushroom ( not magic), a polished wooden pebble,a twig pencil and an old classic penguin paperback. No one can accuse me of being high maintenance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.