Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Past their best

We had an unexpected early start to the day with our smoke alarm going off at 4am this morning - it went off every few minutes until we got up and vacuumed out the dust out of the smoke detectors. It was just as well as I had quite a bit to do today - including taking Murdoch to the groomer, so he is sweet smelling and clean now, and quite a bit lighter without all that excess hair!

Still no sign of spring bulbs around here - and no sign of cut daffodils in the supermarket either, which seems strange as usually at this time of year they have them lying at the checkout counters and I always buy some. These are tulips that I bought on the weekend that are now ready for the bin, but as they fade I like the way the texture in their petals improves.

Some time last year I bought some theatre tickets to go see a production at the National Theatre, and it was only when we were already seated in our chairs and someone queried if we were in their seats that I realised I had got the date wrong! So we left the theatre, stopping off at the ticket counter on our way out to swap our tickets for another day, but the play was so popular it was sold out for the entire season. (And Gavin kindly did not say anything other than it was a pity we were not seeing that play).I was given a credit note, which I have now used to book theatre tickets for tonight. We are seeing Hedda Gabler with one of my favourite actresses, Ruth Wilson, in the title role. I am really looking forward to seeing it, and yes, I have checked the tickets to make sure the date, the time and the theatre are correct!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.