Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Venice - day 3

After a late night it was another early start this morning - I dragged myself out of bed to go meet the rest of the group. It was a foggy morning so we headed back to San Marco Piazza - it seems every other photographer in the city had the same idea as there were many more photographers than the previous morning. It was achingly cold, a damp intense cold that just seeped into my bones and it seemed to destroy any creative feelings I had. All I could think about was getting a hot cup of coffee! We leave the hotel every morning without having had any drink or food, and surprisingly cafes are not easy to come by in Venice, unless I am missing them. I took a few photos of the foggy waterfront, but then went in search of a place where I could have a coffee - I did not have any success, there were only a few bars that were closed. I came back to the piazza and there were two brides posing for photos - I think they were the usual pre-wedding shoots - both brides looked even colder than me in their sleeveless dresses! See extras for photos of them. 

I went back to the hotel ahead of the others as I was too cold to enjoy myself. After breakfast we decided to go out to Pellestrini. It is a very narrow island south of the city where they have very photogenic fishing huts on stilts in the sea, quite unlike anything I ever imagined that I would find in Venice. It took about and hour and  half to get there - a vaporetto to Lido and then a bus ride, and the bus gets on a ferry and take you across. It was quite deserted apart from the small community that lives there. We enjoyed taking photos for a few hours and before we knew it, it was after lunch and we were all hungry - three of us went in search of a restaurant or cafe for lunch but there was nothing open, being the winter season. Eventually we found a small supermarket and bought a few things which we ate outside the supermarket! 

It had been cloudy and foggy all day, but by 3pm some pink appeared in the sky and this develop into a beautiful but subtle sunset, all pinks and purples. We took photos until after sunset and so only got back to the hotel after 7pm. It was a very long day, we certainly get our money’s worth on this workshop! My blip is a close up of one of the fishing huts out at sea shrouded in that pink light. A local man told us that 2 years ago the use of these fishing huts was banned as they are deemed unsafe. 


Now it is another late night, and the forecast is for a foggy morning once again - I have decided to sleep in tomorrow and not go out at 6.20am as I found the cold this morning unbearable (I am not the only one, a couple of people do not go out for the pre-breakfast shoot). I need to catch up on my sleep to energise me for my last 2 days here! 

Thank you so much for all the hearts and favourable comments on my last two blips. I have read every comment but have absolutely no time to reply or look at journals with this busy trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.