Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Venice - day 4

I decided not to go on the pre-dawn shoot this morning, and although I missed wonderful fog opportunities it was the right decision for me to sleep a tiny bit later and catch up on things (like washing my hair, which is not an issue for the men on the trip!) Apparently it was very cold so I am grateful that I avoided that. 

After breakfast we caught the vaporetto to Burano. Carnival officially started yesterday so there were many people out and about in the streets wearing masks and this morning there was some kind of costume dress gondola race on the Grand Canal, which was fun to see. I have an extra of a woman all dressed up for the carnival.

We got to Burano and it was basking in sunshine, which was what we hoped for as the pretty coloured houses do look so much better in bright sunshine. It is a very charming and pretty little island and we wandered around taking photos until lunchtime. Our workshop leader has been very good in planning the right photography locations to suit the weather. After lunch we wandered around a bit more and after a coffee we caught the vaporetto back to Venice. I have added some extras of the colourful houses of Burano.

It was thankfully much warmer today. Venice is far north just below the mountains and although I expected it to be cold I did not anticipate just how cold it would be these past few days, standing around at the waters edge taking long exposure shots. When one is moving about, away from the water, it is not as cold. I did not think it necessary to pack thermals and heavy duty warm gear for a city trip so it’s my fault that I have been suffering with the cold so much. I thought wearing 3 layers would be enough, but it wasn’t! 

When we got back from Burano we rushed to see the sunset from Salute, but it did not amount to much. We took photos for about half an hour after sunset and then returned to the hotel.

Tomorrow is our last day, although we will have a full day of photography as we are getting the 8.30pm flight back home. 

Thank you for your generous hearts and lovely comments. I see I have 3 images on the front page of ‘popular’, I think that is a first for me! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.