Summer's Dancing Children

I took these photos a week ago, loving what I was photographing, while struggling with the erratic light situation, bemoaning my ineffective attempts with my camera to adapt. Even so I could appreciate what I was receiving. Summer is a marvelous and inspiring teacher, and the children were so happily attentive to her direction. Freedom with gentle structure was very familiar to me, reminding me of my old teaching days and the children who were inspired and joyful in my presence. 

One of those children was present in the auditorium. K and her brother, J, danced with me in the eighties, and now two of K's sons were up on the stage and dancing with summer. A sweet collapsing of time. 

K actually has four little boys, and one of the extras shows a strange image that seems to include all of the boys in a photo of two. I seem to have gotten a multiple exposure without trying. I like the spiritual feel of it. The inclusive aspect of it...  

I could write quite a lot about Summer's compassionate and intelligent guidance of the children, but I have to have mercy on my sciatica which tells me no more sitting for now. I will post several photos, which turned out to be pretty expressive if technically lacking. I found it impossible to choose just one so I will post more than enough to give you a sampling of a special morning. In a world in which negative energy appears to be on the rise, tempting us to descend into hopelessness, look at this small group of children as our promise, our future and our hope. Believe in their dance. The variety of their dance...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.