A Taste of Things to Come

Yesterday when I was with Helena and Arvin we both noticed that he was rubbing his eyes. They looked red and slightly goopy. Today being Saturday, my original plan was to call the doctor on Monday. But during the night I got a brilliant idea, why not go to the Family Care Network Urgent Care facility and get a heads up on getting Arvin's eye better. So after breakfast I picked him up and we waited an hour for the doctor to take a look. She diagnosed pink eye and prescribed an antibiotic drop for him. 

I took him back to Silverado and went to Miki's for my hair appointment. By this time it was 1:30. After I headed to the pharmacist to pick up the drops. I kept Helena in the loop and we planned to have dinner with Arvin again this evening. It took awhile to get the drops, January, new insurance numbers, etc. etc. By that time there was no time to go home so I picked up Helena and we headed up with the drops to have dinner with Arvin.

I gave the meds to the charge nurse and we spent a couple of hours with Arvin. Just before we left he got some drops, the first of several days of them. Soon his eyes will be clear and he will feel better.

I took Helena home and finally arrived home around 7:30. Most of my day was spent on the road, visiting Arvin or doing errands. I expect I'll have more days like these in my new role as primary care giver. That role stays the same even though Arvin is not living at home any more. And Helena is my partner.

We agreed to keep our calendars in synch so that either she or I will visit or Lynda will call him. So he won't have any days without contact and love from at least one of us. This will work much better for him than the weeks when I was gone. Tonight he seemed happy and that was a reward for the busy day I spent caring for him. 

This evening I'm puttering on the computer and that is quite lovely. No TV. No expectations. A quick blip of our view this morning. Soon I'll be back blipping some of the photos I took on my trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.