San Francisco Street Car (And Coit Tower)

Yesterday I flew off to San Francisco. I thought I was over the cough/cold that I'd had but once in the air I regretted being at work! I was definitely NOT 100% and I don't like bringing germs into my workplace! But there's no 'going home early' in my job! I was very glad that we landed about an hour early and I was in bed not long after getting to the hotel.

I slept well and I was tempted to stay in bed all day, but I knew fresh air and sunshine would be good too. San Francisco has had such bad weather most of January, but I keep hitting it on the very days when they've NOT had storms! This is my 4th trip here this month and I've had sunshine on all of them!

I took the bus down to Fisherman's Wharf and sat outside with a coffee and a muffin, enjoying the view of swimmers in the bay and the historic ships at Hyde Pier (See first Extra photo). Then I walked along the bay, past Pier 39 and On towards the Ferry Building, where I had lunch before boarding the cable car back to my hotel.

The Cable Cars are not the only old transportation system in San Francisco. This is one of the vintage Street Cars that travels along the waterfront from Fisherman's Wharf to the Ferry Building and then along Market Street to the Castro District. The cars are all different and have come from all over the world before being restored to use here. They're quite fun to ride, although it's been awhile since I've been on one.

See the Extra photos for the ships at Hyde Pier, the steamboat and the Bay Bridge taken from Pier 7, and 2 views of the Ferry building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.