Rain is Rain

Rain is rain and nothing more or less.
It's not a sign of woe in life, or death.
Rain doesn't represent all emptiness;
It doesn't signify an end of breath.

Rain comes and goes, as all things come and go,
Its dreariness offset if one just thinks
That rain brings water, Wasser, aqua, l'eau:
Essential for each living thing that drinks.

So when the puddles grow and spread and flood,
And when it seems the rain will never cease,
When country paths are changed to squelching mud
And size and density of clouds increase,

Remember that a drought would be far worse,
And count the rain a blessing, not a curse.

© Celia Warren 2017


All this began with a photo (taken through the window) of heavy rain hammering on the surface of the garden pond. It is quite a depressing day, and the wind (which I hate) is increasing. So then I brightened my photo a little by playing with the artistic 'cut out' effect, and then with colour. Then I searched for poems about rain. That's when I found nothing but depressing poems, all associating rain with sadness, death, sickness and woe. So, stuff the 'pathetic fallacy'; I decided to write my own with a bit more cheerful and positive spin on rain.

I still wish it would stop, though. And especially that the wind would calm down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.