Gung Hey Fat Choy

I was up early today because I wanted to complete the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch before I went out. I only have a little garden and it is overgrown and in dire need of some TLC, but I do have a neighbour who provides ornithological silver service for our feathered friends. Because of this, they often stop over in my garden as they queue for space or rest their fat little feathered bodies as they flap out of the cornucopia. I've listed my little visitors at the end of this entry.....

So......birdwatch completed I rushed out to catch the bus into town to watch the Chinese New Year Celebrations....appropriately, it is the Year of the Rooster...I've only ever jostled for a good spot along the route of the dragon dance, but I was early today and managed to bag a front row spot in Albert Square where everything started. I was meeting up with Chrissie and Gilesy so I made a quick call to say where I was and there was still room at the front. They were sadly too slow and by the time they arrived the front row was solidly bagged and I was not going to relinquish my prime position. 

There were dancers, martial art demonstrations, ballet dancing unicycling pandas and, of course, the dragons. It was colourful and noisy, especially when the fire crackers went off. I love things like this, they are great fun and wonderful to photograph. I have so many pics I didn't know which one to blip, as my dear friend LG said....a sign of a blipping good day!!

When the dragons moved off towards China Town I met up with Chrissie and Gilesy and we went to warm up with tea and food. It was great to catch up with them....altogether it has been a fabby day!

Dunnock...4
Great Tit...1
Collard Dove...9
Robin...8
Wood Pigeon....1
Long Tailed Tit...7
Blue Tit...13
Magpie...8
Chaffinch...1
Blackbird...14

(I was going to title this....The Tits Were out Again Today!!!....snigger snigger....or should that be titter titter)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.