HIgh ISO

This week's edition of Amateur Photographer concentrates in dealing with 'noise' in images. There are tips on how to avoid the worst but we all know there are situations of low light which just cannot be avoided or prevented. This afternoon the weather was awful and light levels abysmal, so I went out (with the dog of course) suitably attired.  The camera was set to a very high ISO and other parameters adjusted accordingly so that I would end up with lots of noise in the images.  I then set about dealing them in a variety of ways- Adobe Camera Raw, Lightroom, Topaz, Nik Dfine 2 -- all of which I have on the computer. It was an interesting exercise and I have learned a lot. However, the best way is not to get into that situation if possible as, however good your treatment, there will be loss of detail. I think I got the best results through Lightroom but Topaz is very good too.

A great deal of today has been spent by both John and me on sorting out details for our trip to Mexico - we leave in a week's time.  We now have several internal flights booked plus hotels for the first week of our stay with just one more stop to sort. Getting there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.