Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

Rocks with Tree

Ohhh, such a beautiful day. Blue skies, warmish offshore winds, sunny - definitely time to start shedding the layers of clothes. Spring is just around the corner.
Headed down to The Caves again. Low tide was around midday which was good. I did want to wait until later in the day to take advantage of the lovely light around sunset but the weather forecast was ominous for that time.
The Caves is becoming one of my favourite places re photography. Due to low tide I was able to have a slow meandering walk along the beach and exposed rock ledges. All around were rocky protuberances emerging out of the rock platform and sculpted into abstract shapes by the weather and tides. This area is relatively secluded with no beach access apart from back the way I had travelled. I came across some wonderful little beaches, sandy coves almost, between the rocks. Perfect for lazing in the sun on one of those hot summer days. Great for kids also, as this area of the coast, due to its orientation, is protected from the prevailing SW swells, and is relatively safe for nice relaxing swimming.
I shot off a large number of exposures, experimenting with various compositions and motifs.
I finally settled on the one above. I had been inspired by one of my fellow blippers, whom I subscribe to namely 'tinkerbelle', and her photograph of yesterday, where she used 'Snapseed' to modify her picture. I have had this as a iMac desktop app for awhile now but have rarely used it. So today was the day.
This picture has changed radically in terms of colour and tonal qualities from the original. It went through a number of filter iterations before arriving at this one.
It appeals very much to my somewhat perverse aesthetic taste. Probably because of its noir, gothic, moody qualities. No doubt my Welsh characteristic of melancholy manifesting itself :-))

Bigger version here - much better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.