Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Capturing History

Whatever did we do before Blip?  I've spent part of the evening scanning in some of Mom's old photos.  As I mentioned last week old photographs are proving priceless at the moment.  I've found some real gems and I've still got to go through the slides in the loft.  It looks as though we will be able to tell Mom's remarkable story from her early days.  

I created a first draft of what I want to say at the funeral, early this morning.  Then it was off to the nursing home and then onto the solicitor's to collect Mom's will.  I've also returned some library books (luckily they waived the overdue charges) and bumped into one of Mom's old neighbours and was able to tell her of the funeral arrangements.

I was glad I hadn't consigned my old scanner to eBay.  It even has a secondary light source for slides, which will be invaluable.  Cards have started to arrive at home and I had a lovely surprise with some images shared by a cousin I haven't seen in 30 or more years.  It may be a sad time but it is wonderful how people have responded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.