Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sitting, Waiting, Contemplating

I had an appointment this morning.  Not one I was looking forward to, but important, none the less.  In the past Mom was an avid reader of my journal.  She used it as a way of keeping up with things that were happening in my life. I know this is something quite common on Blipfoto.  As a result for nearly a year I have not made mention of a condition diagnosed after a random blood test.  I did not want it to get back to Mom, she had enough to worry about, so only close friends were made aware that I have prostate cancer.

Initial tests confirmed it is at a very early stage.  I was given options and initially I plumped for active monitoring.  Well today a repeat biopsy was needed.  Time will tell how the cancer has developed.  By all accounts prostate cancer is slow growing and the MRI I had last week hasn't indicated any great change.  Hopefully the biopsy will confirm this and I will find out in three weeks.  

For men of a certain age this is a very common cancer.  In many cases it goes undiagnosed.  Certainly I have no symptoms and it was only because I suggested to the practice nurse that she might as well take a little more blood for a PSA test, that indications were found.  My father was diagnosed with the same cancer in his 60s and treatment controlled it until his death from an unrelated condition.

So you have a photo of the ultrasound machine used with the probe (sensitively hidden from view under the envelope) to guide the biopsy needles.  I had 13 taken in total (hope it's not unlucky).  I teased the top consultant carrying out the procedure that it was a lot less painful last year, when one of his nurses did it (it wasn't but then again I had to get some pleasure out of the experience!).  

I certainly don't want sympathy for mentioning this today.  If anything it is to remind men to keep on eye on things, down there!  This is a survivable cancer as long as it is caught early, as in my case.  In the past I thought of myself as indestructible.  Something of late that has been brought firmly into question.  Many men have a tendency to ignore symptoms, and my fear of hospital procedures made me one of them.  It isn't worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.