Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Change of Approach

I've spent the last few days going through my last 8 years of images, picking out those that were taken within a certain geographical area for a new commission.  It's been quite a challenge and I've realised that keywording images is very important to being able to filter out those I was looking for.  Thankfully, i tend to rename all of my files with the geographical location they were taken (if they were landscape), so that helped a bit.

Certain things dawned on me as I was going through many tens of thousands of images:

* How much green there is in my imagery (hardly surprising, given I love landscapes)

* how repetitive some images have been, if taken in the same location.

I've realised it's really important to look at things with fresh eyes; to find something new to say about a familiar subject.  I'm not sure I've achieved it with this image, but instead of taking the straight shot, I took ten of them and combined it into a Pep Ventosa style exposure.  I'm challenging myself to look for different perspectives from familiar locations.  It might not always work, but at least it will stop my photography becoming to predictable.

It was a lovely morning in this neck of the woods.  We popped over to Weston Park, popped into the gallery and then spent an hour walking around the parkland in glorious sunshine.  It was lovely to see a couple of Salix bushes in full flower in Temple Wood.  We then met up with friends for an impromptu pub lunch.  All in all a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.