Redwings at Quedgley

I have been running around the area today doing a number of different tasks, including a shopping trip to Gloucester. I had heard that some Waxwings had been sighted to the south of the city centre near where I was going today, so I decided to spend a short time searching for any sight of them.

I spotted flocks of birds flitting about the opens spaces near Kingsway, a new housing development on an old RAF site. There were lots of mature trees, open ground and scrubby land left as open space between the houses, which I don't think will be built on. I managed to follow the flocks to a tall copse of established trees where they all congregated in the top branches with a lot of communal singing.

I knew they weren't waxwings but the presence of such large numbers of birds into a flock was very pleasing.  I love the sound of their chatter and song. From the ground looking up high into the tree I couldn't identify exactly what birds they were. In fact there were mixtures at odd times of fieldfares, redwings, goldfinches and starlings.

Now I can tell having checked bird websites that they were mostly redwings, which look very similar to fieldfares.  But I haven't given up on the waxwings.  Maybe another trip tomorrow to spot them before they all return to the mainland of Europe, their more usual winter habitats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.