CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Long-tailed tits in the drizzly gloom

I haven't ventured far today and the only time I picked up a camera was when I saw a woodpecker feeding on the suet pellets.  By the time I got my camera, prepared the settings and then opened the sliding door onto the back garden, the woodpecker had flown.

I stood inside the house with the door open wide enough to point a long lens at the feeders down below. There was a constant though light drizzle so I didn't go out, but I was delighted to hear the loud chatter of the birds in their small groups, particularly goldfinches and these long-tailed tits.

The light was terrible with the overhanging mists and low clouds, so the ISO went ballistic. I just love to see these birds flying so close at hand and being able to watch their behaviour in their social groups. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.