More of the stuff

Angie going out to do the morning animal work, pushing ahead a snow shovel and carrying a watering can of water for the chickens. With temperatures at night in to the double figure minus, water becomes a critical issue. Luckily we have heated water pipes for the horses and although expensive to run, it does save carrying 100+ litres of water a day to the stables.

During the evening dog walk at the local lake, saw some car headlights in the distance on the tracks. When we got to them, it turned out two girls in a Clio had wanted to test out the snow and got stuck. They had called some friends who had then tried to pull them out with a normal saloon car. In the process they had churned up the very dry snow and made several very icy holes. I said I would return to my Jeep and if they were still stuck, would see if I could help despite my having almost bald tyres.

They hadn't had any success so we tried but we only had a short rope and my wheels were in the same icy holes and the very deep snow and narrow track meant I couldn't get on to fresh snow. So a further SUV was called and we hitched that too mine and in a combined effort got the car free.

The girls kept apologising but I thought it was great. Rather they messed about in the safety of some tracks and fields rather than getting in to trouble on the main road and possibly causing damage and injury. I didn't say that I would love to do the same thing but at 60+ , was going to have more of a problem explaining away my antics. Extra photo of the "caravan".

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.