Seven Up

A day topped and tailed by soccer - well, sort of… first thing getting into the online queue for the ‘eagerly awaited’ fifth round Scottish Cup clash between those titans of Edinburgh soccer, Heart of Midlothian, and their long time rivals, Hibernian FC. Oh joy, I could go on. But luckily I got tickets after a twenty minute wait - and our own familiar seats at that.
So, it was with a spring in my step that I set about some taskettes from the list. Front door curtain rail and curtain. And a mounting for the electric poker. And hooks! And then a perambulation over to the boatyard with my vernier, for indeed I suspect that instead of a 10mm clevis pin I should have bought 3/8” - I may have to add it to the list.
So, later, back to soccer - for Hearts were entertaining Rangers at Tynecastle - indeed, an ‘eagerly awaited’ clash - and a fixture which rarely ends well for the followers of the team in maroon. I was particularly pessimistic about this one - another half dozen new players in through the revolving door - journeymen, mercenaries, and foreign to boot, on short term contracts. Well, well, I was so wrong. We bloody walloped them. Huzzah, I did shout, as I twirled my scarf. And a celebration up at the Diggeries did follow, as was only fitting.
So, seven years on blip! This time last year I was still in harness, biding up Comely Bank way, and paying my own bus fares! But now it’s feet up and anchors down in sunny Wardie Bay. Thanks to all of you who pop in from time to time and make a comment, and to Blipcentral for amazingly keeping it all going. Pip pip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.