Budget time again...

With so much happening in my Ministerial role on a daily basis plus so many issues to address in my constituency it is sometimes hard to reflect the great diversity of other matters being considered and acted on by the Government and in the Parliament.

But a basic is the budget and , as Scotland has a proportional system of voting , in every session (except the last when we had an unexpected and unique majority) budget time is negotiation time.

The Scottish Green Party came to a budget agreement with the Government yesterday and consequently the first stage debate resulted in a majority for Derek Mackay's proposals.

The final stage - and the setting of the tax rate for the first time under the new devolved powers - will take place in three weeks time.

I have blipped my voting sheet from a budget before and I thought it would make an appropriate subject again today , not least because I spent all afternoon in the chamber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.