Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Running Water

Our water's back on now after a 48 hr cut. Very grateful to see it again and despite the inconvenience it's good to be reminded of what we take for granted. There were so many times when I went to wash my hands, rinse a teaspoon and, of course, flush the toilet. We had the luxury of being able to use bottled water without thinking about the cost, but for some of the locals here that wouldn't be the case. I'm sure there are many homes here still don't have running water full stop.

The British Council didn't have water from mid morning either which meant closing the centre again in the afternoon. In most schools that I've worked in over the years, this announcement would have been greeted with roars of excitement at the thought of an afternoon off and I was surprised that I didn't see much of that around. Is that a BC thing I wondered? Were people still delighted but controlling it? Or were they thinking of the hassle of having to make up the extra classes later on? Or perhaps annoyed that they'd just spent an hour or longer to get there in the first place? For my course, it means that half the trainees and my colleague and I will have a one day weekend (Friday) and we'll be working on Saturday. No choice in what's an already tight schedule. Fingers crossed that my offer of chocolate to our lovely practice students means that we have classes to teach!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.