Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Visit to Birmingham

A hectic week ended with a visit to Birmingham in the morning, sandwiched between a bank visit and a meeting with the celebrant.  I didn't want to place my trust to the postal service when I was sending the original will to the Probate Registry so took it and delivered it personally.

I had to smile, I made the same mistake as usual when visiting the courts and left my small Leatherman tool on my key ring.  For the first time common sense prevailed and the guard kept my bag, including the key ring, while I popped up to the desk to deliver the papers.  Good on him!

We now have most things in place, just need to arrange for the order of service and then everything is organised.  We were too late to put an announcement in the local paper (though I wonder how many people read it these days?), so there will be some ringing around over the weekend.  I will go back to work on Monday and back to the (new) normality of life.

Earlier in the week an article on the news magazine programme her in the West Midlands mentioned the number of cranes peppering the city skyline; they weren't wrong!  I could have captured them but the blues sky and iconic Selfridge building won out today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.