Scribbler

By scribbler

Art of the Real

But first, this.


I love art, you know I do. I love making it, viewing it, reading about it, and thinking about it. That includes visual arts and literary arts. But it's time to use the power of the arts to speak truth to power. And to prophesy. 

Art can be an escape, or it can be a weapon. It can be a revelation. Many people have been drawn to George Orwell's "1984" as a picture of where our current political situation is leading, but in The Guardian* I read this article that convincingly argues for Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World" as the exemplar of our times. Follow the link and see why.



American billionaires and gazillionaires: 
Are you really 50,000 times cleverer and more deserving than the single mother who struggles to pay for a one-bedroom apartment by serving burgers for minimum wage?
Do you understand the contributions to your success made by American taxpayer-funded infrastructure, education, communications, health care, and public safety?
Isn't it time to give back? If you are already giving back, I thank you!
If not, are you willing to risk your wealth and the influence it buys in order to save your country? 
That's what patriotism requires of you. 
Are you a patriot, or not?



----------------
* I sent The Guardian a contribution yesterday in support of their powerful coverage of political events here and abroad. It wasn't my first, and it won't be my last. Truth-tellers need to be told their news is valued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.