An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Gift of Love...

David was working from home today so was able to be around for the builders.  I took full advantage of this and had a lie in till almost 9am!  Woo hoo!  I regretted it though, as I always do, as I ended up dawdling and taking ages to get ready.  It was almost lunchtime before I was ready to greet my public!  :-)

Both Alan's and my colds are lingering.  We don't feel particularly bad, it's just annoying having to blow noses every two minutes, and I seem to have developed a fine baritone.  Hoping my voice is back to normal before my Lassie's Reply tomorrow night!

When I finally made it through to the kitchen this afternoon, David handed me a box the postman had delivered earlier.  It was addressed to both of us so he'd waited till I was there to open it as he suspected it might be a gift.  It was.

As part of our birthday gift, our friends Alan, Gail, Natalie and Jim bought us membership of the Craft Gin Club and this was our first bottle.   It came with extras with a Valentines / love theme.  The gin itself is from Finland and I really enjoyed reading about its origins in the lovely magazine that accompanied it.   Info here if you're interested.   

I am looking forward to tasting it, but not tonight, as my tastebuds are dulled and I don't want to waste it.  

We spoke to our builder today, the boss man H, and he says things are looking good for handover on 17th February as planned.  That news, and the lovely sunny day which made me notice that the snowdrops in the garden are peaking through the soil, made my heart leap.   He then went on to say that the plan is they will begin ripping out the replacing the sink and cupboards in the utility room the Monday after (20th) so my euphoria at the thought of being builder free was short lived.  

The utility room is quite a small, straightforward job so should only take 2 weeks max.  Then it will all be over.   Oh but they're going to be replacing the front door and laying a permanent wheelchair ramp at some point after the utility room is done.   And they're making radiation covers for the living room.   And then the clearing out and landscaping of the bit of side garden that's left will begin.  Then we have to move Alan into his new sitting room (currently the dining room) and revamp his old sitting room, which will be a sitting room for his support workers, all of which will require redecoration.  Then the entire hall has to be decorated due to the doorway in to the kitchen being moved, and decorate the utility room.  And re-carpet and decorate our bedroom once the through floor lift is fitted and decorate our ensuite....

It's beginning to dawn on me that it will probably be this time next year before everything is finished in its entirety.   Bloody hell ;-/

One step at a time though.   One step at a time.

Happy Weekend Blip Pals :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.