Pepper Currency

How would it be if the new Scottish currency, which the SNP are considering in the event of a positive result to their never ending campaign for independence after Brexit, were peppers or perhaps iceberg lettuces or broccoli?

I ask the question as these commodities are said to be as scarce as hens' teeth since the farming districts of The Mediterranean and Spain have had a disastrous Scottish type winter where the gales and snowy weather have decimated the crops of salad ingredients. In contrast the winter here in the lowlands of Scotland has been the least severe to date of any I can remember. The climate has been turned upside down for some of us.

It all goes to show the benefits of relying on homegrown vegetables, the ones available through out my childhood, carrots, turnip, parsnips, cabbage and Brussel sprouts. I can't remember seeing a pepper until I was an adult, but there again, I did lead a sheltered life.

My peppers blip is not indicative of greed - the local shop did not have single peppers for sale, only packets of three. I could be a wealthy woman if pepper currency in Scotland becomes a reality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.