Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Oktoberfest

I have previously explained the Wienerwald & Oktoberfest connection,

Unlike last year, I was now an official Wienerwald GmbH employee. In fact, this was my second official day. Not quite sure why I started on Tuesday 2nd rather than Monday 1st. Possibly so that Wienerwald didn't have to pay my airfare on Monday from London. It was my last flight after a year of almost weekly London-Munich trips.

Again I had been at the Wienerwald Oktoberfest tent in an official capacity and indeed on this day which was the first ever "3rd October, German Unity" public holiday and the event was swarming with ex-East German DDR citizens, witnessing the event for the first time ever.

My visit today was again on official duty. We had business visitors from the UK and I had been allocated to show them around. I should have known better - it turned out to be a horrific evening/night. The Brits did what any self-respecting Brit does - totally overdo the drinking bit and then to really make things worse, insist I joined them on the infamous "Olympic 5 Ring Looping" funfair ride. I think my colleagues had drunk as many litres as rings. I no doubt lagged a bit behind but not by many.

I can assure you that when we parted, they to their close by hotel via taxi, I had a serious problem walking to the train station and taking the 30-minute trip back to my flat. My diary doesn't suggest I missed work the next day and even shows I met up with someone on Sunday 7th evening, the last day of the Fest, for more of the same.

The Blip shows the Wienerwald tent's restaurant (i.e. sit down) food & drink prices. They also did a roaring trade with take-away chicken. It's an original document I have and now that it is in digital form can at long last bin.
1/2 Wiesn Hendl is half a roast chicken
Wiesn-Maß is a litre of beer,

As a reference 1 Euro is almost exactly 2DM. Thus a litre of beer cost €3.50 and a litre of water €3.12 while a litre of coke cost €4.88. Remember we are in Bavaria,  Beer is an "Essential Foodstuff".
In 2016 a beer cost €10.40 at the Fest.

Posting this in February 2017, so the dates for the calendar are 16th September to 3rd October, an 18-day-long event this year because the 3rd October falls just after the weekend. Normally always ends on the first Sunday in October.

"Wiesn" is the Bavarian word commonly used for the Oktoberfest deriving from the name of the site of the event "Theresienwiese" or Therese Meadow named after the Princess whose marriage to the Bavarian King kicked off the whole thing in 1810.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.