Sharing the road

This was the oldest of lots of vintage cars I saw today. I spoke briefly to the couple driving it who said they were going as far as Franz Josef today, had come from Geraldine and would be going to Christchurch via Lewis Pass over the next few days. If anyone knows what the car is, please let me know!

I was woken up at 6am this morning by what I think was a Kea pecking at my tent. I made some noise and shone my torch through the canvas at whatever it was and shortly afterwards heard it pecking at a neighbouring tent. Then people started getting up and it went away. I had breakfast with Michelle and Gavin before they drove south towards Wanaka and I headed back north. About 10 minutes after I saw the vintage car, it started raining and it hasn’t stopped since.


Originally I thought I’d drive to Arthur’s Pass and stay there tonight but it was so horrible driving in the torrential rain and strong wind that when I stopped for a break in Hokitika I decided to only go as far as Greymouth (and stay in a hostel). Why do so many people drive without headlights when the rain makes visibility almost non-existent? So tonight I’m in the warm and dry, listening to the rain and uploading blips from the last week since I got so behind. Hoping for better weather tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.