a lifetime burning

By Sheol

From my window

Mono Monday: From my window

Its been wet cold and gloomy this afternoon, and I think you can see that from this shot.  I work in an air conditioned modern office where the windows don't open, so the droplets were unavoidable I am afraid.  

Opposite me, is Bath Street, a rather nice Georgian red brick terrace that I believe dates back to the 1790s.  In front of it, just visible through the rain drops is a cobbled street, that has just been relaid.  

This area was once part of Courage's Bristol Brewery, (before it was taken over by Courage it was George's Brewery).  In years gone by, you could smell the brewery in the nearby shopping centre, when they were brewing and the wind was in the right direction.  I always rather liked that smell.  Again, in times past, I went on a couple of brewery visits to the Courage brewery, to see how they made beer.  

It never occurred to me that I would end up working in a modern glass office on the site of the former brewery once it shut down.  

Many thanks to KangaZu for hosting the challenge this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.