Sapphire Sky

I'm cross. I went to the village post office to buy a £5 commemorative postage stamp for the Queen's Sapphire Jubilee. I intended to include it in my blip pic. Not only did they not have any, they hadn't even heard about it. I know that Her Majesty is spending the day quietly, as for her it is the anniversary of her father's death but I'm a bit upset that her Sapphire Jubilee has received such scant attention. Sixty-five years of selfless service as our monarch deserves wider recognition. As Prince Harry said on our Queen's ninetieth birthday, "Thank you for showing us the way." 

There was 'enough blue sky to make a pair of sailor's trousers' this morning. My pic is not about the long-tailed-tit but the (intentionally unnaturally enhanced) sapphire sky in honour of the Queen.

I had a long walk at Fisher's Green this afternoon and photographed the attached bird of prey. I'm not sure what it is. 

Today's poem is Lady 'Rogue' Singleton by Stevie Smith http://jrong.tripod.com/rogue.html

I love her poetry. I haven't heard this one before. My sister has a photographic mission to Edmonton for me in March. Not sure that 'all the friendly people run' there now, though I will be togging runners. :)      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.