Salt's Mill

I took the train to Shipley with a bag of old jigsaws for the Samaritans Charity Shop this morning.  The one I finished first thing had two pieces missing (!) so that has gone back in to the wardrobe in case they turn up.  I then walked along the canal bank to Saltaire and lunched on mushroom soup (with a soupcon of sherry added!) at Massarella's Arts Cafe before continuing along the canal to Dowley Gap and heading home through Beckfoot Ford and Bingley St Ives.  I paused awhile on the canal to watch a narrowboat go through the locks at Hirst Wood.  Its roof was piled high with wood so he may have been a joiner or it was for firewood to see them through the winter.  I was ready for a cuppa when I reached home!

This is the part of the mill which is now home to the NHS and private apartments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.