Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Face Plant

My intention to watch the Super Bowl (live) got interrupted.  I dropped mom off at a friend's house after church Sunday, less than a mile from my home. I was on my way back to pick her up when the SUV in front of me was forced to stop suddenly because a cyclist streaked out in front of her against the light.  I wasn't able to react quickly enough and popped her from behind.

The damage to my car is minimal and she had none.  But as many of you know, if there's a way for me to get injured, I'll find it!

The air bag didn't deploy nor did the seat belt restrain me.  I struck the right side of my face (from corner of eye, through cheekbone/jaw to lip) on the left side of the steering wheel. That was about 2:30 pm.  I put ice on my face for the better part of the day and kept the swelling down but my headache continued to get worse. 

Just before the game was to begin, given my history with head injuries, I decided that I should be checked out.  The good news is that after three CT scans, things were fine.  Just gonna be sore from some deep tissue bruising. Plenty of ice and Tylenol needed.

As far as the game?  I set the DVR to record, so I watched it when I got back from the ER, four hours later. Enough time wasn't allowed for a long game, so just as it got tied up, the recording stopped. I didn't see the end. As exciting as the game was as time wound down, it was Lady Gaga who totally blew me away.  What an incredible, amazing performance. I barely have the courage to step off a curb and she jumped off the roof of the stadium suspended by just two wires! Whew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.