Calmer

5.9C with heavy overnight rain continuing through the morning. Rain clearing from 1pm or so. Light E/NNE/NW/NNW breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound got a thorough soaking when we went out at 7am. I had to use the biggest of her towels to get her dry(ish). My waterproofs were dripping in the kitchen for quite a while.

Maeve and I went for a walk after lunch when the rain seemed to be finally stopping. Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs (Ian Banks, Michael Palin, and Sir Tony Robinson) on the Clip. We went round to the harbour then just came back along Longrow. Maeve seemed happy to be home.

With the podcasts still playing I went for a wander out to the shipyard. Listening to Michael Palin's interview from 1979 it struck me how much the presenter Roy Plumbley sounded like a man out of his time. The language and attitudes were so English upper middle class and came across to my mind as very pre WWII. The interview was stilted in places and stifled Palin's natural humour to some extent. I would very much like to hear him with Kirsty Young especially if he was discussing his love of the paintings of Ann Redpath and the Scottish Colourists.

Going across the green there were several really big deep pools on the grass. First time I have seen that. The loch was much calmer today. The tide was out. Only a couple of fishing boats were still in harbour. Out at the shipyard I decided to wander out the shore path as far as the first gate. Everything was as soggy as I had thought it would be but I enjoyed being out that far in the open space beyond the shipyard. On the way back I walked round the esplanade to the harbour, stopped to take this one shot across the marina area, and came back home through town.

Afternoon music ... Van Morrison, Avalon Sunset.

E-PL5 f/6.3 1/250 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.