Tiny Tuesday - Gypsophila

Blipper wrperry is kindly supervising TT this month - many thanks to her!

This is a tiny piece of gypsophila which was part of a bouquet of flowers MrsC received recently (not from me this time, I have to confess!). I spotted it when I was musing over what to blip for TT this week. As you probably know, the tiny florets are only about 5-6mm across and I don't yet have a proper macro lens for my new Olympus (I'm hoping to get one at a sale price at the UK Photography Show next month).

So taking this was interesting. I used my 12-100 zoom at 100mm (35mm equivalent 200mm) but that meant a heavy crop and subsequent grain. So I experimented with Olympus's clever "high resolution" mode which takes 8 pictures in succession, moving the sensor a tiny bit between each, and amalgamating them into  50MP image (normal resolution 20MP). The only downside I discovered is that there's a minimum aperture of f8 (ie you can't use f11 or a higher number; the slowest shutter seems to be 8 seconds I think) so I couldn't go for high depth of focus. However with a bit of tweaking it's come out OK I think. I like the semitransparent appearance of the petals.

(PS I have no vested interest in Olympus!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.