Walk on Water

The day turned almost springlike, with milder temperatures in the mid-40s F and blue-blue skies. I was working at home and my husband was threatening to go and visit a little wetland we know along Bald Eagle Creek. But without me? No, no, no!

My general motto is to carpe the heck out of the diem whenever the opportunity presents itself. So I took a break in my work day and went along. (Fortunately, it's not far.)

He had brought his good sandals, and before I was even settled into my chair, I looked up to see that man walking on water! Out he went, balancing carefully, strolling up the creek.  (He reported that it was "quite refreshing.")

The creek was lined with ice and snow, as you can see in the main photo, so he had to be careful getting in and getting out. And of course, the stones on the bottom are irregular and sometimes slippery with sediment, so you have to watch out.

I've included a wider view in the extras so you may see a bit more of the creek, including the pretty blue skies reflected on the waters; the cool, clear waters.

The soundtrack: Marc Cohn, Walk on Water

Also possibly related:
Stream Sitting: Me, in My Native Habitat
Happy Christmas from Lost Creek

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.