The Niddrie Brick

I couldn't let you down. Or myself. At the bottom of the back field there lies a collection of old bricks. Niddrie Bricks no less. So, once Joe had been waved off to school (Eve still has lurgy and Ruby is on study leave) I took the dogs for a wander down there. 

Later I spent the morning writing about gin.

Later still, I picked up Mrs Smith's sister after she had been pummelled by Margaret to great effect.

Even later than that, there was pizza.

Tonight I will be mostly reading about the history of Scotland's Brick Manufacturing industry.

.........................................................................................................................................

Niddrie Brickworks, Niddrie, Edinburgh, Midlothian. c 1924 to 1991

The Niddrie brickworks, near Edinburgh, was a large common-brick works built in 1924 to supply bricks for house building by the Niddrie & Benhar Coal Co. It had three large Hoffman continuous kilns, and latterly, a modern shuttle kiln.


The works closed in 1991, and was demolished. Fort Kinnaird retail park now occupies the spot.


Source: scottishbrickhistory.co.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.