Shortbread!

It was the day to do some baking today.  Another cool day and I really wanted to try out a recipe for shortbread that one of my friends Sam had assured me was the best Shortbread recipe EVER!!  Now that's a big statement around CCN when we have both always thought her Mum Nettie's Scottish Shortbread was the best EVER!!  

I put on my best apron and went to work and promised CCN that we would be taste testing by morning tea time.  A little later than usual this morning, but true to my word (as you can see from the image), we did in fact road test the Shortbread at precisely 11.03am this morning.  Oh, Nettie, I don't know how to tell you this, but it was absolutely sensational.    I can't even put into words how spectacular it was.  The only difference between the two was the amount of plain flour to corn flour but OMG!
I think even my blip here CakesCakesCakes (Mrs C to me) would have had a hard job defending the Scottish version.  

This recipe is going to feature in a very special cookbook that has been produced by a mother's group at the local Blackheath Primary School. Sam (under huge pressure from me I might add) agreed to email me her special recipe.  It's a fantastic initiative and if all of the recipes are as wonderful as this one it's going to be a sellout.  We already have an order placed for the first edition.

PS - The Shortbread pic got the nod tonight after deliberating over the choice of more Gang Gangs and an early morning visit from Blippy.  This time the Shortbread won out. :-))  Enjoy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.