a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Crow Blacker than ever

"When God, disgusted with man, 

Turned towards heaven. 
And man, disgusted with God, 
Turned towards Eve, 
Things looked like falling apart. 

But Crow . . Crow 
Crow nailed them together, 
Nailing Heaven and earth together - 

So man cried, but with God's voice. 
And God bled, but with man's blood."

Ted Hughes ~ Crow blacker than ever

A difficult man Ted Hughes, and there is that whole Sylvia Plath issue.  But somehow, there are times when, particularly during his "crow" period after the death of Sylvia, that his insight into the human condition really communicates itself.   

A dark and rather brooding blip I am afraid. Which, lest you be concerned is not how I feel at all.  I have finished work today for a week and for the next 9 days (2 weekends and 5 weekdays you see) I am my own man ~ subject of course to anything Cathy may have to say to the contrary. ;-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.