Lenore

By Lenore

Evening snow

It's been trying to snow all afternoon and evening, resulting in a rather pathetic dusting.  I nipped out to sort the bins out (big dustbin day today when everything get's taken), and thought this would make a nice picture, it's not amazing, I'm seeking my photographic mojo at the moment. 

It's Friday, that means FUF's - aside from next Friday as it's half term - I now dread school holidays.  The toddler brazenly walks in these days, leaving me fumbling with the baby, bags, paying and sorting name tags.  He then spends the morning ambling around, introducing himself to anyone he can find and generally having a great time.  Today he befriended Peter and his son - I had a nice chat with Peter and discovered he has five children and is from South Africa, he confessed to loving children and was more than happy with his new friend.  This was lucky, as Peter also looked after Alex when he decided that he wanted to go to story time (upstairs), so grabbed the hand of the nearest adult, got himself upstairs and plonked himself next to Peter.  I, on the other hand was trying to work out where he had gone before trundling upstairs (leaving the smallest with a new friend) and re-uniting myself with the toddler.  Finding that all was well, I fetched the baby and finally we all sat down to enjoy the story

This evening, I threatened to bake a cake from my complicated French cookery book.  it's a sponge cake, but still requires eggs to be separated and a lot of beating and whisking. God-forbid self-raising flour or baking soda as the quality of the baking and rising should be in the mixing - or so I am told by the stern words at the beginning of the cake section.  I'm seeing friends on Tuesday and wanted to do a trial run before making it for them.  So my husband was a little surprised to find me chopping onions when he came in to make a cup of tea earlier.  I'd forgotten to tell him that tomorrow nights dinner needed to be prepared and marinaded overnight, Persian lemon and onion marinaded chicken with turmeric and saffron. I don't think he'll be too impressed if I start baking now, so instead I'll look forward to doing it tomorrow with the trepidation Julia Childs gives me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.