Capital adventures

By marchmont

Walking home

A clear, moonlit night so I walked home to the Port along a 'weel kent' route. Some of the shops have changed but many are the same. And many, many memories. I looked up Barclay Rd but that was as close as I got. Crossing the Bridge I could hear the R Don but not really see it. Yesterday, 11 Feb, was the start of the salmon fishing season on the Don. I wonder if anyone I know was out?

And the Port? Port Elphinstone named for one terminus of the Aberdeen - Inverurie canal. It didn't last long, the superseded it very quickly.but you can see bits of the canal basin in the Port, and 'the cut' outside Kintore.

This is not the full moon but a reflected St James Place streetlight.

Back south, home, today, on a Gold bus. 10 years ago this month we committed to leaving Inverurie. Tempus fugit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.