Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 17

In my ongoing photographic record of this year's yardbirds, this Pileated Woodpecker is the 17th; although it is the 29th species seen in/from my yard so far this year.  It's a pretty dismal photo as I snapped it through the kitchen window and then had to crop the bejeezus out of it.  The pair that lives in the woods behind our house are very skittish and the moment I stepped out on the deck for a better shot, this male took off if a flap of white and black wings.  Still, it's worthy of my blip today as I always love seeing these huge woodpeckers.

The weather today has been positively horrid - sleet, freezing rain, wet snow. The roads are a slushy mess will will turn into an icy mess tonight when the temps drop.  Anticipating declining conditions, we decided to go see MIL during lunch today.  We stopped and picked up lunch for ourselves which we ate with  her in the dining room.  The dining room at the home is great - small table for either 2 or 4 people and made to feel very homey.  The staff mingles around the tables, visiting with the residents and helping those who need assistance.  They are definitely getting to know my MIL and the things that will make her laugh.   And she is definitely starting to settle in more.  One step at a time.  

Missed talking to my parents this morning, but they are at a big geocaching event in Yuma and were up and out the door before sunup this morning.  They are having a blast, and I'm fine waiting until Tuesday to talk with them.  I'm just glad they are living such a full life, doing the things that make them happy, and being outdoors and active every day.  Role models for life in one's 80's.

I'm planning to stay inside, safe and dry, for the rest of the day.  Maybe a good book, some tea and a cat on my lap...

Thanks for stopping by. 
 Debbi   

PS:  To see all 17 of my yardbirds to date, click HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.