Snooty Flowers

What an incredibly grim day! Drizzle, rain, mist and a raw, raw cold.

Len took Basil out for a walk. I was too lazy. I've been trying to sort photos from my excursions to Tangier that might make the cut for an RPS distinction, but can only conclude that I need to make a lot more effort with my camera.

I had decided on a selection last night and had even started putting them in a semblance of order. I went through albums again and found several that I hadn't processed previously. But whether they'll fit into a statement of intent remains to be seen.

My other ambition for today was to get my Lastolite Strobo kit out and experiment with using the grids on my flashgun. Then I tried the snoot, example as pictured. I understand now why the kit is available for half price.

A snoot is supposed to direct the light to where you want it to shine. On top of the camera is NOT the best position to put the flashgun. There's no control over where the light will be directed, as you can undoubtedly tell. This was the most 'successful' of  my shots. Anything at a shorter focal length pointed the snoot above where I wanted the light to fall and anything at a longer focal length stranded the subject in a pool of light. 

Off camera flash is the way to go, but I couldn't find the stand on to which the strobo unit should fit. Will look tomorrow, if I remember. Time to cook the dinner now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.