MONO MONDAY - CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT

Well, top of the list must be Mr. HCB!  He was busy in the garden filling the bird feeders,  so I decided I would sneak up on him whilst he was in the garage and take a photograph.  This is such a typical shot of him - he is nearly always smiling and although he did have a little whinge about not being my blip yet again - he was OK with it eventually - the promise of a cup of coffee and a biscuit soon brought the smile back to his face!

I have to say that in the last few weeks whilst I have been much less mobile, he has been my rock and has never grumbled about having to do much more than usual such as when I have asked him to fetch something or go back upstairs to get a book I’ve forgotten as well as ferrying me around, as I haven’t driven for about 5 weeks - but I guess that’s what marriage is all about - give and take - in the good times and the not-so-good.

I must admit that he has been a little grumpy in the last couple of weeks as he hasn’t been able to get out into the garden, but planting seeds in the conservatory cum greenhouse has kept him sane and as it’s a lovely sunny morning, he soon had his fleece and hat on and was out pottering. 

We are going to some friends for lunch today to chat about retirement - our friend is about to retire and is concerned that he won’t manage.  Our advice will be that although the financial rewards are not that great - unless you have wonderful pensions, which we don’t - the stress-free environment far outweighs that - as I often say to people, the only stress we have now is what to have for our evening meal - and of course, we won’t even have that worry today, it will just be bread and jam - assuming we have a good meal at lunchtime and not bread and jam then!

I have just taken Mr. HCB his coffee in a mug which says:

Happy to be retired.
Retirement 
     is when you stop
          living at work
               and start working
at living!

How very true - Happy Monday to all those at work and all those who can’t wait to retire!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.