TRUE LOVE!

Mr. HCB and I have never really celebrated Valentine’s Day with lots of showy flowers and huge cards - we believe that it’s the little things that we say and do all year round that make a marriage work - not a BIG SPLURGE on a day when everything is the twice the price it usually is.

However, this year, and during the last few weeks, because Mr. HCB has been such a great help in so many ways, I decided to buy him a card - and knowing how much he loves his garden, this one seemed quite appropriate - I also said inside the card that I loved him “Greenhouse loads” and “Garden loads” - I think he will get my drift.

The pretty pink orchid is one I was looking at when we went to Morrisons yesterday and the conversation went something like this:

“Why don’t you buy yourself an orchid?”
“Well, it is Valentine’s Day tomorrow!”
“OK then, you pay for it and I’ll give you the money when we get home!”

So, after being out in the garden for the last hour, I made Mr. HCB take all his clothes off in the utility room when he came in  - BUT PLEASE DON’T WORRY - there will be nothing untoward happening - it’s just that he has been washing down the inside of the greenhouse with Jeyes Fluid and he knows he is NOT allowed into the house with his clothes reeking of that very pungent smell - so it's clothes off and into the washing machine for a long wash and he's now gone upstairs for a shower.  As I said, true love - and in case you are wondering, he did give me the money for the orchid!

“At best, 
     love is simply the slipping of a hand 
          in another's, 
of knowing you are 
     where you belong 
          at last, 
and of exchanging 
     through the eyes 
          that all-consuming regard 
which ignores 
     everybody else on earth.” 
Laurie Lee, I Can't Stay Long

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.