LOVE MAKES UP FOR MANY OF YOUR FAULTS

I would like to be able to say that this beautiful rose was given to me by Mr. HCB - but sadly, I cannot!  The only time he ever bought me red roses was on the birth of our first child, a son, almost 47 years ago - ah yes, I remember it well!

This beautiful rose was in Jack’s Bistro, when we visited for coffee this morning so I took the opportunity to photograph it, guessing I might not get one of my own!

We met with a couple of friends there and when we left, as it was raining quite heavily, decided to go to Morrisons, our nearest supermarket, rather than all the way to Waitrose.  I wanted to look around for a plant to give to my mother for Mothering Sunday, because we are away, and I thought she could enjoy it now.

There was a huge bouquet of red roses already made up, so I jokingly said to the man on the flower stall “Shall I just take these now?”  His response was “They’ve been a pain in the butt - and it’s taken me all morning to make up that bouquet.  The guy who wanted them brought in 25 little notes, saying things like ‘I love you’ and ’You’re gorgeous’ and it’s taken me all this time to attach them to each rose, so I am really fed up because I’ve got lots more to do!”  I did ask if he had attached one that said ‘This has cost me a small fortune’ which made him laugh - and also made the guy in the queue behind me laugh too.  During this exchange, Mr. HCB kept well out of the way - romantic soul that he is - he said he’s taking me on holiday next week, what more do I want?

I just wonder how many bouquets will be wilting by tomorrow morning - cynical soul that I am.  

Happy St. Valentine’s Day, everyone - may you know, especially today, how much you are loved and I have to say, I don't need red roses to tell me that!  M xx 

Most important of all, 
     continue to show deep love 
          for each other, 
for love makes up 
     for many of your faults.
1 Peter 4 : 8 
The Living Bible

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.