COFFEE (AND CAKE) WITH A GOOD FRIEND

You may remember that we went to a wonderful funeral a few weeks ago after our friend, Howard’s father died.  This is Lillieth, Howard’s wife, who works in a pre-school and this week is their half term holiday, so we arranged at Church on Sunday to meet up for coffee today.  It’s always good to chat with Lillieth and although she is quite a bit younger, we get on so well together.  

Their two children are away at university and I write to them a couple of times each term and when they are home nearly always take them out for a drink, cake and chat, so today Lillieth told me quite firmly that she was paying - so I didn’t argue - she persuaded me to have a cake too - but it was a rainy and miserable morning!

We used to sing together in the Worship Group at Church and I do miss her standing next to me, but we had a great time together today and before we knew it, two hours had passed.  I know I can be myself with Lilli and she with me, so I was able to tell her about my day yesterday - and for those who were concerned about me, today I am much better.  

It’s so good to have caring friends when life gets “too much” and I have been very touched  to know how much people care and are concerned.  I don’t think that men feel the same as we women, and perhaps that’s just as well - but a telephone call from a friend last night and then a heart-to-heart chat this morning plus lots of messages have cheered me enormously, so thank you to everyone who has taken the time to contact me.  

A friend is someone 
     who knows the song in your heart
          and sings it back to you 
               when you have forgotten 
                    how it goes.
Anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.